Sunday, April 27, 2008

Ancient Egyptian History

Before 4000 B.C. Prehistoric period
4000 - 3100 B.C. Predynastic Period.
3100 B.C. Early Dynastic Period, Dynasty I-II. Unification of Egypt, beginning of Dynastic Period.
2686 B.C. Old Kingdom, Dynasty III-VIII. Pyramid age, canons of art established, strong central state.
2160 B.C. First Intermediate Period, Dynasty IX-X. Collapse of central authority, period of civil war.
2040 B.C. Middle Kingdom, Dynasty IX-XIII. Egypt reunited, period of prosperity and stability.
1786 B.C. Second Intermediate Period, Dynasty XIV-XVII. Hyksos invaders from western Asia and Nubians from the south control large sections of Egypt.
1558 B.C. New Kingdom, Dynasty XVIII-XX. Invaders expelled, Egyptian military power and influence extend from Nubia in the south to the Tigris and Euphrates rivers in the northeast. The arts flourish.
1085 B.C. Third Intermediate Period, Dynasty XXI-XXIV. Egypt loses its foreign empire and splits into smaller sections.
760 B.C. Late Period, Dynasty XXV-XXXI. Egypt falls to conquering Nubians, Assyrians, and Persians, but also achieves final grandeur under native rulers of Dynasty XXVI and XXX.
332 B.C. Conquest of Egypt by Alexander the Great.
304 B.C. Ptolemaic Dynasty rules Egypt for nearly three hundred years.
30 B.C. Cleopatra, last ruler of the Greek, Ptolemaic Dynasty dies, Egypt becomes part of the Roman Empire.
395 A.D. Coptic Period. Christianity becomes the major religion of Egypt.
640 A.D. Arab Conquest. Islam introduced